Resigned to Obesity Due to Diabetes?

I am almost resigned to be obese. I’ve done everything by the book since January 2017 and have only lost a nominal amount of weight. I have a hunch that being a Type-1 diabetic may be my problem in losing weight. Here’s my story.

I’ve been at this weight loss thing for seven months now. The results are negligible. 

Every morning, I optimistically weigh-in, record my weight, and analyze this data over the last week, the last month, and the last quarter. 

I’m looking for trends. Is the graph going up, going down, or staying the same?

My weight graph over a recent seven day period shows things are about the same over time.  Here are my numbers. 

  •  232.4    July 1
  •  232.7    July 2
  •  232.8    July 3
  •  233       July 4
  •  233.6    July 5
  •  234.5    July 6
  •  234       July 7

Of course on July 4th, we pigged out on Southern Barbeque – pulled pork, ribs, Brunswick Stew, and banana pudding. It was all well-salted and the sauces had plenty of sugar added. 

I’m thinking the residual effect of water retention from this deliciously good barbeque lasted for the next two days. Both my wife and I were swelled-up like a bull frog on the creek bank and our weight showed it. 

Anyway, there’s really not a lot of difference in my July 7th weight of 234 and my weight of 232.2 seven says prior. Moreover, there is not a lot of difference in my July 7th weight of 234 and my weight of 234.2 two months ago on May 5. 

I’ve concluded that I’m going no where fast!  I feel like Atlanta Braves pitcher, Pascual Perez. He circled around Atlanta on I-285 thirty years ago and missed his start. He went no where fast. That’s the way my weight loss program is going. 

Here’s the funny, unusual story. 

http://www.hardballtimes.com/tht-live/30th-anniversary-pascual-perez-circles-atlanta.-repeatedly/

Pascual Perez

I’ve studied this thing. I’ve read a ton of books on weight loss. I’ve done everything I know to do. 

  1. Eat healthy small portions. 
  2. Drink lots of water. At least a quart a day or more most days. 
  3. Exercise. We usually walk 2 miles or more at least 4 days a week and swim in our pool 45 minutes. 
  4. Eat a healthy bedtime snack when needed to keep my blood sugar stabilized through the night. 
  5. Go to bed at 10pm each night hoping for 7-8 hours of good sleep. But, here lately, I’ve been waking up at 2 or 3am 😡. 

I’ve been doing everything by the book, and all I’m doing is circling Atlanta!

I really enjoy reading of the breakthrough successes of others in my Facebook group that I created, “Weight Loss for Christians Support Group.”  Some have had remarkable success losing 20-30 pounds in two or three months. Others like me are circling Atlanta and frustrated to no end. 

Here’s the link to “Weight Loss for Christians Support Group.”

https://m.facebook.com/groups/1922298117990485?tsid=0.034493324925721436&source=result

The success of others in losing weight does inspire and encourage me. But, am I a little jealous?  Yea!  Maybe a lot jealous. 

Ok, I’m doing weight loss by the book. The book that got me started was recommended to me by my pastor-counselor, Rev. Roger Bennett, titled I Can Do This Diet.  It’s a fantastic book written by a Christian doctor. It’s become my weight-loss bible. Get this book!  Here’s the link.

 https://www.amazon.com/Dr-Colberts-This-Diet-breakthroughs/dp/1616382678

Another book by Dr. Colbert that I’m working through now is The Seven Pillars of Health.  I recommend this one too. 

I started reading Dr. Colbert in January. It’s filled with great stuff.  I said to myself, “Yea, Yea, YEA! I can do this. I can lose 20-30 pounds by the end of the summer.”  

Well, summer is almost over.  The kids start back to school in a couple of weeks.

Geeze, I think the educational bureaucrats want to eliminate summer vacation like they’ve eliminated recess!  But, that’s an article for another day. 

I can really identify with Jeremiah’s end of summer lament “The harvest is past, the summer has ended, and I am not saved.”


My twist on this verse is that I’m not saved from my fatness. My belly still overlaps my pants. I’ve heard that this unfortunate condition is called “Dunlaps Disease.”  My belly dun lapped over my pants! 


Lately, I’ve really been reading about diabetes and weight loss in diabetics. I think I may be on to something. But until I can figure it out, talk to my endocrinologist next month, and make an appointment with a dietician, I guess I’ll continue to circle Atlanta and be resigned to minimum weight loss and being obese. 


 

 
      
.

Leave a Reply

