I Gained 2 Pounds Trying to Lose Weight! Good Grief!

Here I am trying to get the courage to eat my first sushi, raw tuna with avocado wrapped in rice. In spite of my best efforts by eating healthy small portions, drinking lots of water, daily exercise, I gained two pounds after losing five from my 5-Day, 5-Night Juice Fast! Here’s my story.

OK, the standard weight loss formula is less calories in and more calories out plus exercise equals weight loss. Right? Wrong if you are me!

Let me explain. 

Wednesday morning, May 31, 2107, I weighed-in at 230.5. That was the morning following my 5-Day, 5-Night Juicing Fast. I was thrilled that I had lost an average of about a pound a day. That’s 5 pounds of fat gone so I thought!

Well not so fast! The next morning, Thursday, I weighed-in at 231.7, a gain of 1.2 pounds. WednesdayI had only consumed 1364 calories. Keep in mind that 3500 calories equals one pound. I should have lost at least a few ounces.  With my daily calorie reduction, I should be losing 1-2 pounds a week. But, I didn’t take my daily 2 mile walk on Thursday at the track. Yet, my Fitbit recorded 2,665 steps for a total of 1.22 miles. We did some shopping, and the step total came from going up and down the grocery aisles. Even without walking at the track, I should have shown a loss of something and not a gain of a whopping 1.2 pounds. 

Friday morning, the scale showed I had gained almost another pound. I weighed 232.5. That’s a gain of 2 pounds in 2 days. The trend is going upward instead of downward. Yikes! I don’t understand it, but I’m trying to. Here’s my thinking about this. 

It could be because of my slow metabolism and hormonal changes. My Basal Metabolism Rate (BMR) has slowed down to 1939 compared to 2218 when I was 25 according to this handy dandy BMR calculator That I found online. Here’s the link so you can figure your BMR. http://www.calculator.net/bmi-calculator.html

BMR is the most basic predictor of our daily caloric needs. Based on your age, height, weight and gender, your BMR is the number of calories your body needs in one day to maintain its current weight, assuming no exercise or activity. I need 1939 calories daily to maintain my weight. Anything less than thought, I should shed some fat. 

The BMR’s relationship to a 1,500-calorie diet will affect how quickly you can lose 10 pounds. For example, if your BMR requires you to consume 2,000 calories per day to maintain weight, and if you cut 500 calories per day from your diet of 1,500 calories, that will allow you to lose about 1 pound per week. I should be consistently losing a pound a week at least. 

Note. I meticulously record my caloric and carb intake on my ‘Lose-It’ app. Here’s the link. https://www.loseit.com/how-it-works/

Thus, my slower BMR could be a factor in not only losing weight but gaining it too 😳. Oh to be 25 again!

Another reason could be less muscle mass. My chest has sunk to my belly. I’m a flabby fattie. Loss of muscle lowers our calorie burning capacity. Muscle burns off the calories. 

Joyce took this picture of me trying to get the courage to eat my first sushi. My big belly has got to go!

Conversely, the more muscle we have, the faster is our metabolism. I’ve got to do some strength training in addition to my aerobic activities of walking at least two miles daily and swimming in our pool at least 30 minutes on most days. 

For strength training, I’ve got to start using my 8-pound dumb bells and start using the power tubes I bought a couple of weeks ago. No excuses!  

The power of power tube exercise to build muscle mass
 

A third factor necessary to lose weight is getting some ZZZ’s. I haven’t slept soundly for the last couple of nights. Tuesday night, I saw the clock at 11pm, 1am, and 2am. I couldn’t sleep. And, I couldn’t sleep Wednesday night either. I gave up at 2am and got up both nights and stayed up 😳. 


I read that chronic sleep deprivation plays a significant role in weight gain. Maybe that’s the reason for gaining two dadgum pounds over the past two days. Our body needs plenty of “downtime” sleep for the internal housekeeping that keeps our metabolism in good working order. Mine is out of whack for sure. 

Last night, I tried something different based on some web articles I’ve read relating to “how to have a good night’s sleep.” I didn’t drink anything past 7 o’clock because I consistently had to get up in the middle of the night to pee. 

I also didn’t watch all of the Braves game, which here lately is causing me a lot of angst, and then try to sleep. Instead, I turned off the Braves 15 minutes before bedtime and watched our Shelties play. The Braves are playing horribly, and I get mad. My heat rate goes up. It’s hard to go to sleep when I’m angry. Silly, I know. But, that’s just me. I’m a baseball and Braves nut. Turning them off for a few minutes before bedtime helped me relax. 

The change in my bedtime habits must have worked. I want to bed, quickly fell asleep, and slept eight solid hours last night. Peaceful, wonderful, uninterrupted sleep. My metabolism hopefully repaired itself some. I feel rested and refreshed this morning. Ahhh. 

I think I’m doing everything else right. I’m eating mindfully. That is, eating slowly and eating small portions of healthy foods. 

I’m drinking lots of water. 

And, I’m tracking my food intake using my Lose-It app. 

 I’m walking daily. 

As a result, I’ve gained two pounds in two days. Aghh!  


I have had a good side benefit to my weight loss efforts. I’ve become a happier, healthier and fitter person. I feel energized. That sure beats the lethargy, grumpiness, and declining health I had before I started all of this back in late December 2016. It beats it by a mile!

Weight loss seems so simple on the surface. It did to me anyway. But, it’s anything but simple! 

Weight loss is supposed to be, “Eat less than you burn and your body will drop pounds.”

But for many people like me, there’s more to the equation than counting calories in and calories out. We are all have different bodies. I cannot compare my results to someone else’s and neither should you. Think of weight loss as a continuous journey. There will be speed bumps in the road like I’m having to slow down weight loss. But, I’ll keep at it and eventually reach my destination one day and so will you! 

We’ve got to hang in there and keep at it. We’ll get there eventually!  

But, I do hope that tomorrow morning’s weigh-in shows at least a loss of one or two ounces instead of another pound gain!  

Leave a Reply

