The Last Day and Night of My 5-Day Juicing Fast – Gratified

This is my concluding article describing my 5-Day, 5-Night Juice Fast. I’ve learned a lot about the power of juicing and how it contributes to our body’s health. I also gave myself a grade. After all, I am a retired 8th grade teacher, and I graded all assignments. Here’s my closing article on my juice fast.

I’ve come to the end of my 5-Day juicing fast this morning. I’m right proud of myself. 

I give myself a “C” for not being able to do it purely on juicing. I give myself an “A+” for completing 5 days. 

There were times I couldn’t juice like at bedtime due to Type-1 diabetes. The carbs from juicing vegetables and fruit don’t stay with me long enough at bedtime for my blood sugar to sustain itself through the night. I have had to eat some carbs that would take me through the night so I wouldn’t wake up at 3am shaking from a low blood sugar. 

For example, at bedtime last night, my glucose was dangerously low at 52. I ate homemade peanut butter spread one a graham cracker, 4 Hershey’s Chocolate Kisses, a banana, and 4 ounces of almond coconut milk for a total of 37 carbs and 153 calories. That got me through the night. I woke up this morning with a very good 83 blood sugar 😀. 

To earn a 100 grade or A+, you have to have a perfect score. I wasn’t perfect and missed several times because I ate some carbs to sustain my bood sugar. I also felt that I couldn’t juice on the occasion when we had friends over for supper and the time we grilled steaks when my brother came over on Memorial Day. But, I’m not blaming them. It’s just me. I’m a little self-conscious and want to go with the flow. So, I give myself a C for missing those few times and not juicing 100% of the time. 

When I taught 8th grade, one of the grades I gave was a completion grade on their daily assignments and their homework assignments. I was always amazed at students who turned in nothing. Nada. Zip zero. Shoot, I used to copy the smart girl’s work during home room if I had not done my homework. I wasn’t the only slacker boy who did that either. I guess she let us copy her answers because she felt sorry for us or something. Anyway, she was definitely the most popular girl during homeroom for sure! And, she was right pretty. 

But, I didn’t have to copy work in completing my self-assigned 5-Day and 5-Night Juicing Fast!  I did it all myself!  I give myself an A+ completion grade. 

I achieved all of my goals. 

First, I wanted to see if I could do it. Did I have the resolve and will power to stay with it? Yes!  A resounding yes!  A+. 

Second, I had to lose weight. I had been stuck between 234 and 235 pounds for 12 days. I wanted to try something radical to try and jump start my weight loss. 

I had started my weight loss efforts on November 25 at 241 pounds. I was getting nowhere fast having lost only about 7 pounds in 5 months. Shoot, I’ve read about people in my Facebook weight loss groups who lost 20-30 pounds in 3 months!  I was envious. 

My 5-Day, 5-Night Juice Fast was a radical attempt to jump start my body into losing its fat. So, I’m happy to report that after my 5-Day, 5 Night Juice Fast, that I’ve lost 4.7 pounds (almost 5 pounds!) going from 234.8 to 230.5 this morning. That’s an average loss of almost a pound a day! And, 1.6 pounds dropped off between yesterday’s weigh-in of 232.1 to 230.5 this morning. Yea,  I’ll take that!  The jump-start worked. 

My third goal was to detox my body from the Enalapril and Lipitor for high blood pressure and cholesterol respectively. And, to detox from eating unhealthy, processed foods made from white, bleached flour with the nutritious wheat germ removed. In addition, processed food is loaded with added salt, sugar, and other additives that I can’t pronounce. 

I detoxed as evidence from the horrible withdrawal I experienced on Day 3, Night 3. I couldn’t sleep and finally gave up and got up at 2am. Here’s that story. 

https://danwhite5868.wordpress.com/2017/05/29/day-3-and-night-3-of-my-5-day-juicing-fast-sleepless-in-seattle/

But during the past two nights, I’ve slept like a log getting about 8 hours of sleep each night. And from what I’ve read, sound sleep is an important element for weight loss. 

The fourth and perhaps most important goal was lowering my blood sugar. During my juice fast, it has been within my target range of 90 to 120 instead of 170-200 that I’d been having. 

That unacceptable level of 170 to 200 was one reason I didn’t have energy, felt listless, and wanted to take a nap in the afternoon. High glucose does that to a diabetic. But during my 5-Day and 5-Night juice fast, I achieved my goal of lowered glucose too. 

Here are some of my numbers from the past few days including today which are the first two numbers. 83, 87, 52, 122, 101, 139, 103, and an unacceptable 274 before bedtime on Memorial Day. 

So, my four goals were accomplished. I successfully completed my juice fast, lost significant weight, detoxed, and got my blood sugar to an acceptable, lower level. Mission accomplished!

I feel energized instead of lethargic. I feel better. I look better according to my wife, but she has prejudiced eyes. The swelling in my ankles, face, and around my eyes has dissipated. I’m in a size 42 inch waist pants instead of a 44. And, the 42’s are a little loose and would fall down without my belt tightened to its last notch 😳. Moreover, my wife says my skin has improved. It’s not pasty or scaly as it had been. 

It’s a good feeling when your plans have the desired outcome you seek. I have that good feeling!  

What’s next?  I’ll continue to juice two times a day. In fact, I started today off with a glass of healthy, nutrition-rich juice!

Starting my day the right way!
 
I’ll begin adding fruits like nutritious strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and bananas today. I’ll have a cup of Joyce’s delicious and healthy gazpacho bean soup with chicken, carrots, and celery in it for lunch. 

I’ll resolvedly limit the times I eat out, and when I do, I’ll choose healthy menu items and leave plenty for the waitress to dump out. I’ve found it better to throw away restaurant food than throw it into my body where it’s stored as fat! Plus, their added salt makes me swell up like a toad frog. 

Restaurant portions are big enough to feed the county! Eating everything on your plate at restaurants and eating at fast food places are a big reason why we Americans are so big. 65% of us are obese like me. 

If and when I can get to 220, I’ll move from the obese category to the overweight category and won’t be part of that alarming statistic any more!  That’s one of major goals to strive for. 

Another thing I’ve found out during my juice fast is that it doesn’t take much food to keep me going. I can actually get by on a little, feel full, and still enjoy my food. It hasn’t been an austerity diet. It’s been quite a pleasant experience with food. I’ve read in I Can Do This Diet by Dr. Don Colbert that if you eat slowly instead of gobbling it up, the best taste from food occurs in the first few bites. After that, the taste becomes repetitous. I’ve found this to be true. I highly recommend his book. 

One last point. I can’t stress enough the importance of exercise. Joyce, the Shelties, and I walk about 10 miles each week and sometimes more. Yesterday, we all walked 2 miles and then came home and swam in our pool for about 30 minutes. It’s hard for me to lose weight without exercising. 

I’ll continue to write and post updates of my weight loss journey. It’s really a lifestyle change which is a change for the rest of my life. I’m 66. I’m hoping to add many quality years to my life, God willing, to enjoy life to the fullest, travel, and serve the Lord. 

Thanks for reading. Your comments are welcome, and you can enter your email address in the box at the end of this article to subscribe to my blog. 

4 thoughts on “The Last Day and Night of My 5-Day Juicing Fast – Gratified

    1. Thanks for your encouragement and support. Means a lot to me. It’s been to hard and also very rewarding to lose this weight. And amazingly, I have no desire for the unhealthy foods I used to eat. It has left me. It doesn’t even look good or appealing to me any more. I guess in preacher terms, I’ve been transformed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

