What Is your Weight Loss IQ?

If you are like me, I knew nothing about weight loss and did all the wrong things trying to lose weight. My weight loss IQ was zero. My article tells how I gained knowledge about nutrition, healthy eating, and the importance of exercise to lose weight.

My wake-up call came on December 28. I stepped on the scale and was shocked to see 240 pounds. 240 pounds!  I’d never been that heavy in my life. Something had to give. 

Plus, I’m a Type 1, insulin dependent diabetic. I was headed for disaster. 

I knew I had to do something, but what?  I had been moderately concerned about my growing mid-section. “I’ll skip breakfast. That ought to help.”  But, it didn’t help at all. In fact, I learned than skipping meals and especially skipping breakfast is one of the worst things I could have done. 

I was in bad shape and didn’t know I was in bad shape. Psychologists call that denial. 

I knew I needed to make changes but wasn’t quite sure how to do it. 

I was out of touch with the amount of food my body actually needed and what kind of food I needed. 

I didn’t have a clue. I didn’t know a thing about healthy eating. I couldn’t define nutrition. I didn’t know what a calorie was. I couldn’t understand the nutrition label on food. We in the South call someone like that, “He’s dumb as a stump.”  

My weight loss IQ was so low, I couldn’t have passed a remedial class. 

So, how’s your weight loss IQ?  Take a moment from reading this and take this online interactive Weight Loss IQ test. It’s only ten questions and then come back and finish reading my article. 

In the interest of full disclosure, I scored 80%, and I thought I knew everything after reading and studying about weight loss. 

You can post your score in the comment section that follows this article if you like. When I taught school and returned a graded test, the kids loved to compare their test scores with others. So, be a kid again and lost your score. It will be fun to compare scores. Click the link to get started. By the way, there is nothing to fill out. You don’t even have to put your name on the site. So, get started. 

https://leaf.nutrisystem.com/whats-your-weight-loss-iq/
Well, how did you do?

I started learning about healthy food when my pastor-counselor, Rev. Roger Bennett, put me on to Dr. Don Colbert’s book, You Can Do This Diet. Roger struggles with his weight too. 

Dr. Colbert discusses America’s obesity epidemic effecting children, teens, and adults like us. Did you know, for example, that obesity costs $122.9 billion annually, and the obesity industry, like fast food restaurants, obesity related medical treatment, and diet books generate a fat $315 billion total annual revenue which is 3% of the United States total economy?  

Chapters include: The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Losers, irresistable Foods, metabolism, the difference in good carbs and bad carbs, protein, fats, portion sizes, and much more. Each chapter is chock full of necessary information needed before your weight loss journey begins. 

Dr. Colbert’s book is not another diet book. The title is a little misleading in my opinion. It’s all about adopting a healthy lifestyle of which understanding what’s healthy food is and how exercise benefits your body and food processing are important components. I might have titled his book, Adobt a Healthy Lifestyle, Lose Weight, and Feel Better or something like that. 

Knowledge is power. You need the knowledge of nutrition to have the power to know what you are doing in regards to losing weight. Don’t make the mistake like me and so many others who go into this blind. 

Raise your Weight Loss IQ.  Order it while it is on you mind. Amazon has this book by this New York Times best selling author. 


There are many, many helpful resources out there like Dr. Colbert’s book. And, there are scammers, crackpots, crazy diets, magic weight loss pills and shakes, drinks, pyramid schemes, and a host of other products pitched by people ready to sucker desperate people who want to and must lose weight out of their money. 

Be a wise weight loss product consumer. Do your research. Raise your Weight Loss IQ. Message me if you want my opinion about something. I’ll be glad to share with you what I’ve learned. 

“Blessed are those who find wisdom, those who gain understanding” (Proverbs 3:13). 

2 thoughts on “What Is your Weight Loss IQ?

Leave a Reply

