HE IS RISEN!

I woke up before dawn on this Easter morning to meditate and marvel on the resurrection of Christ and what that means to me. Here are my thoughts.

He is risen! He is risen indeed!

How I love starting Easter morning and Easter service with those words!

I set my alarm for 5:30am last night to rise and meditate on those words this morning. It’s predawn. The world is silent around me. The voice of the Lord is clear to me at such a time. 

I marvel at three resurrection and what it means to me and my family, to my friends, and to the world. Churches will be packed all around the world to worship in spirit and truth our risen Lord through praise, hymns, word, and the table of our Lord. God is pleased for He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever believes in Him may have eternal life. 

I listened to Matthew 28, John 20-21, and 1 Corinthians 15 on my Bible app. As I listened, the birds in the woods behind our house are waking up and singing their sweet resurrection songs too. It’s indeed a holy time. Christ is risen!

Christ the Lord is risen today, Alleluia!          Earth and heaven in chorus say, Alleluia!      Raise your joys and triumphs high, Alleluia! Sing, ye heavens, and earth reply, Alleluia! 

Love’s redeeming work is done, Alleluia!    Fought the fight, the battle won, Alleluia!      Death in vain forbids him rise, Alleluia!       Christ has opened paradise, Alleluia!                                (Charles Wesley 1707-1788)


The resurrection of Christ changes everything for us. For me, I have life. I have a hope that in good times and bad, Christ will work all things for my good and His glory. If He can make good come out of the cruelty, abuse, and suffering He endured by swallowing up death with victory on that first Easter morning, then He has the power to change any adversity in my circumstances into blessings. 

As Paul wrote, “We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. We are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:28, 37-39).  

He is risen” changes everything!

I have a peace that passes my ability to understand it, and a joy with no bounds. 

“By the grace of God I am what I am” (1 Corinthians 15:10). 

See the empty tomb and believe. Hear His voice say. To the disciples, ” Peace.” Look at Mary Magdalene running with joy and amazement from the sepulcher to tell the disciples, “I saw the Lord!” Taste the fish he prepared on the shore of Galilee for his hungry disciples who had worked all night. 

Feel his hands like Thomas where the nail scars are. See him like Mary. Hear His voice of peace, feel his hands and feet like Thomas. And, believe. Wonder upon wonder, and every wonder is true!

Easter changes everything. Worship the risen Lord today in His splendor and majesty. He is risen indeed!

Joyce and I will be worshipping with Christ the King Lutheran Church in Evans, Georgia this morning at the 9:30 service. In the tradition of Jesus’ breakfast on the shore of Galilee, Easter breakfast follows the service. I can’t wait!

He is risen! He is risen indeed!

“Ascribe to the LORD, ascribe to the LORD glory and strength” (Psalm 29:1). 

Leave a Reply

