I Achieved My Weight Loss Goal This Week!

Emotions gallop through me on my Tuesday morning weigh-ins on our bathroom scales. I asked my wife on Friday if she thought I had lost weight this week. “Most definitely,” she replied!  “Step on the scale, close your eyes, and I will look for you. I won’t tell you.”

“That won’t work,” I countered. “If I’ve lost weight, your smile will give it away. If I’ve gained, your serious face will tell me.”  

I tried to put it out of mind, but my obsessive-compulsive personality wouldn’t let me completely forget about it. 

I looked in the mirror that night. “Yep, the belly has definitely shrunk a little.”  My jeans have more room. I’m using the last notch in my belt. All were good signs. 

With a sense of excitement and great anticipation and a little touch of fear and dread, I stepped on the scale this morning. 

And what to my wondering eyes should appear was a number that brought me great cheer!  234.3!  Down from last Tuesday’s 236.9!  That’s a loss of 2.6 pounds!  I was elated especially after showing a gain last Tuesday. 

Weight loss is an emotional roller coaster for sure. 

My weekly goal is to lose 2 pounds each week which would put me at 208, my first goal, on May 23. That would move me from the obese to the overweight category. Yea, it takes a long time at that rate. But, the tortoise and not the hare wins the race. 

Everything I’ve read says that 1-2 pounds a week is a healthy weight loss.  Fast weight loss and a person will most likely gain back what was lost and could even gain more than what was lost. Yuk. Further,  “A weight loss of more than 1-2 pounds a week often means that you are not getting enough nutrients to be healthy.” http://www.webmd.com/diet/tc/healthy-weight-what-affects-your-weight 

My ultimate goal is 180 pounds. That’s a long way away. In order to make it manageable and achievable and to feel victorious along the journey, I’ve broken it down into small bite-size increments. After all, you can’t drive to California from Georgia in a day. 

My first goal is to get out of the 230’s. So, I am aiming for 229

My second one is 208 which moves me from the obese category into the overweight category. 

My third is 200. That would be a magic number for me. 

Finally, I want to hit 180, my ultimate target. 

The Scripture points out the necessity of setting achievable goals like I did. Otherwise, it’s easy to get discouraged and quit. In Isaiah 28:9-10, the Scripture says,”Who is it he is trying to teach?  To whom is he explaining his message For it is: Do this, do that, a rule for this, a rule for that a little here, a little there.” So, it’s a little weight loss here and a little weight loss there for me. 

In achieving my weight loss goal for this week, I didn’t take diet pills. I didn’t follow a fad diet. I didn’t starve myself. I simply ate healthy small portions, walked 10.25 miles, a mile and a half per day. For lunch today, my wife made fresh broiled cod served with 3/4 cup mashed potatoes, a slice of Ezekiel 4:9 bread, a salad, and a few fresh pineapple chunks for dessert. 

Healthy eating of small portions of three daily meals and exercise like walking each day are the necessary ingredients to weight loss. I feel better. I sleep better. I look better and have energy. 

With these little achievements and Christ who gives me the strength, I can persevere until I reach 180 pounds. And, you can too. 

 

Leave a Reply

