Weight Loss – Empowered by Success

Apethetic. That’s the best word to describe how I felt about my obesity. I had no interest in that big flab of fat around my middle. It didn’t bother me in the least. 


I ate pretty much what I wanted. I remember watching TV with a bag of Tostidos and a jar of salsa dipping and munching away. 

I also skipped breakfast thinking I was cutting calories. I skimped on lunch, pigged out at supper, and snacked in the evening. 

Then on January 1 of this year, I had a Great Awakening. I hit the scale at 240!  Ughh. I had never been that fat in my life. 

Before that day of reckoning, I had picked up a book titled “You Can Do This Diet” by Dr. Don Colbert from my pastor-counselor, Rev. Roger Bennett, of Overcomers Outreach Center. But, it sat on the shelf in my home office out of sight and out of mind. 

However, on that eventful New Year’s Day, I remembered it was there. I pulled it down and began to read. 

That book and applying Dr. Colbert’s principles about healthy eating has changed my life. 

At my now weekly weigh-in this morning on my bathroom scale, the number was 234.2 down from last week’s 238!  That’s a loss of 3.8 pounds. Wow!  Moreover, my waist was 48 inches down from last week’s 49.5. My waist (measured around the belly button was 51 inches on January 1!

As a result of losing just a few pounds, I feel energized, sleep better, and am quite proud of my significant accomplishment. I’m motivated to keep on keeping on. 

I can do this!  I can control food rather than being lackadaisical about it. 

I can have a body that honors God rather than dishonoring Him with a fat belly. I am motivated now to honor Him with my body. 

Success breeds success. It really does!  And losing a few pounds has fueled me to be more successful. 

Jesus said, “If you are faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things” (Matthew 25:23). In the weight loss translation, it might go like this, “If you lost a few pounds, I will enable you to loss many pounds.” Success breeds success. 

I now have several books on weight loss that I am working through. I have learned about nutrition and am now a nutrition label reader. How many calories?  How many carbs?  What is a serving portion? Plus, there is Google. Put in the search engine any food and add nutrition, and it’s there in an instant. I don’t think you can lose weight without a knowledge of nutrition. I now hunger for this knowledge. 

For example, I now know the difference between high glycemic carbs such as white rice and white bread and low glycemic carbs such as brown rice and Ezekiel 4:9 bread found in the freezer section of the grocery store.  Low is good and takes longer for the body to break down. High is bad and breaks down quickly. Dr. Colbert has several life-changing principles to follow. Here are a few. 

Cut down on portion sizes. We have gone from a 12 inch dinner plate to a 9 inch plate. On the plate is a protein serving of 3.5 ounces of chicken, beef, pork, or fish cooked healthily. This looks like one and a half deck of cards. Next are servings of low glycemic starches and fruits about the size of two tennis balls. Then, vegetables round out the rest of the plate. These are salad type vegetables which are mostly water and fiber. Examples include lettuce, carrots, celery, tomatoes, onions, bell peppers. green beans, broccoli, and asparagus. Corn on the cob is not a vegetable but a starch. It’s important to know the difference between starchy and non-starchy vegetables. 

Drink water before and after the meal. I like to flavor my water with a little cranberry juice on occasion to give variety. 

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Don’t skip it. We’re not talking about sausage and biscuit and grits for breakfast either (a good Southern breakfast I had to give up). For grits and a biscuit, I substitute the low glycemic starchy steel cut oatmeal. Eggs scrambled or an omelet with peppers and onions takes care of the protein and veggies. And, we usually include a small serving of fresh fruit like berries or pineapple. 

Breakfast sets the dietary tone for the day. It awakens and boosts your metabolic rate which enables your body to burn significant amounts of calories and fat. It helps control your hunger which wards off the temtaion to binge later. 

We are what we eat. We reap what we sow (Galatians 6:7). When we sow seeds of nutritionally healthy eating, we reap healthy weight loss of 1-2 pounds a week and a healthy body. 

Finally, get off the couch of apathy and get active even it’s only 30 minutes of walking a day. And, this can be done with 15 minutes like in the morning and 15 minutes in the evening. 

Stop making excuses and rationalizing like I did. Get up and get going. You will feel better, depression will lift, and energy will return. It did for me, and it will for you!  

And as you implement these changes in your life and see and feel the success, you will feel empowered to have more success in your lifestyle change. Remember, success breeds success!  

Leave a Reply

