We Live in a Food Paradise

We are so blessed as Americans to live in food paradise.  Whatever you want to eat, it’s here ready for our consumption. We have every kind of food imaginable. 

I remember reading years ago about the Russian leader, Boris Yeltsin, visiting Randall’s Grocery Store in Clear Lake, Texas. I found the article.  https://www.google.com/amp/blog.chron.com/thetexican/2014/04/when-boris-yeltsin-went-grocery-shopping-in-clear-lake/amp/?client=safari

Here is what the article said. “Yeltsin roamed the aisles of Randall’s nodding his head in amazement.” He told his fellow Russians in his entourage that if their people, who often must wait in line for most goods, saw the conditions of U.S. supermarkets, “there would be a revolution.”

A recent article reported that even today, many Russian families – including some in cities – are again growing food to deal with the hard economic times. https://www.google.com/amp/learningenglish.voanews.com/amp/3499235.html?client=safari

In my lifetime, I’ve never experienced a food shortage. There’s more than plenty even to the point of throwing it away. 

Our grocery store shelves are well-stocked. The produce department has an abundance. Fresh strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and all manner of produce even from foreign countries. 

There is fresh or previously frozen shrimp, and fish. Some of it from foreign seas. 

There’s plenty of beef and chicken. 

The dairy counters are full. 

The freezer section offers ready-to-eat meals. All you need to do is microwave and presto! A delicious meal. 

We are blessed. 

Then there are deli’s, fast food places galore, and restaurants that feature down home cooking, Chinese, Mexican, Italian, all-you-can-eat buffets and others. This is not to mention the seafood restaurants. There is plenty to choose from. And they all serve heaping helpings. 

Yes, we live in a food paradise. 

Yet, in our food paradise, many choose unhealthy foods. And, it’s killing us. 

“About three-fourths of the population has an eating pattern that is low in vegetables, fruits, dairy, and oils. Most Americans exceed the recommendations for added sugars, saturated fats, and sodium.”  https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/chapter-2/current-eating-patterns-in-the-united-states/

As a result the United States has an obesity epidemic. Overall, 38 percent of U.S. adults are obese (including me) and 17 percent of teenagers are obese. 

Our obesity costs us financially too. “The estimated annual health care costs of obesity-related illness are a staggering $190.2 billion or nearly 21% of annual medical spending in the United States.1 Childhood obesity alone is responsible for $14 billion in direct medical costs.” http://www.healthycommunitieshealthyfuture.org/learn-the-facts/economic-costs-of-obesity/

Healthy food choices are out there. The nutrition value of our food is available on all foods. The federal government requires it since 1990. Yet, we ignore the label and buy unhealthy food. 

I couldn’t even understand the nutrition label and never read it until recently. Now, I’m a ‘read the label’ fanatic. We have a bottle of Tabasco sauce on our table. And, I even read that and was relieved to find out it was a “free” food. Nothing unhealthy about it!  But man cannot live on Tabasco sauce alone!  

In the middle of our food paradise, we can eat healthy!  All we have to do is take the time to read about nutrition, read the labels, choose smaller portions, and we can do it!  

I’m doing it and losing weight!  It’s not a big sacrifice. It’s not denying yourself. Oh, there are foods now I don’t choose to eat.  What I wouldn’t give for a big bowl of vanilla ice cream covered with chocolate syrup. But, I’m learning to like low fat yogurt. Honestly, I don’t miss the ice creme. Well, I do a little bit! But, I’m OK with the yogurt. It’s all about retraining my tastebuds and other foods I like such as Southern fried chicken. 

I don’t feel stuffed after a meal any more either. Satisfied? Yes. But not stuffed. It’s a good feeling. 

I eat a carb like a high fiber bread or half a baked potato, protein like a meat cooked healthily, and all the non-starchy vegetables I want like what goes in a salad (low fat dressing), and a proper serving of fresh fruit for dessert. That’s it. It’s not hard. 

Moreover, I’ve learned how to order healthy food at restaurants. And those oversized servings?  Not any more. I take out a proper portion size and ask the waitress to take the rest away. Or, my wife and I split the entre. Even at my favorite Mexican restaurant, I can eat right. 

The results are fabulous. I have more energy. I haven’t been depressed since eating healthily. My mood has improved 100%. And, I feel victorious. I control food instead of food controlling me. It’s a liberating feeling!

And, let us remember. God placed Adam and Eve in food paradise. There was tasty, delicious, fresh fruit on every corner. Food was everywhere. Good, healthy, nutritious food that satisfied their appetites. 

There was only one food God forbid them to eat. And like us, that was the food they craved.  They gave into their craving and it killed them!

We too live in food paradise. Choosing the wrong, unhealthy food is killing us. It was killing me. So, choose and eat healthily. It’s not hard. Trust me, you won’t lack and will feel satisfied when you get up from the table. It’s a wonderful feeling! 

Leave a Reply

