I Am Obese Post 3

3 JAN 2017. 

Today is my weekly weigh-in day. I’m a little disappointed that I weigh 238 pounds after a week of what Dr. Colbert calls mindful eating in his book, “I Can Do This Diet.” Last week, I weighed 238.5. So, I lost 1/2 pound. On the positive side, that’s better than gaining a pound!  

My waist is 50 inches which is down 1 inch from last week. Encouraging. The waist is measured across the belly button. It is not the pants size. 

I’ll keep at it. I’ll keep trying and see what happens. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day, and I didn’t become obese in a day. It’s going to take time to lose this belly. 

I did good last night. My brother and I went to a Barbeque place. I ordered a pork sandwich and a side of Brunswick stew which was like soup. We ordered a side of fried okra and fries. I only ate half of the bun, half of the pork BBQ, a little sauce, some of the okra, and about ten fries. Before, I would have eaten it all and left stuffed and sleepy. 

Dr. Colbert says that we have an obesity epidemic in America. One out of three American adults are obese. 12% of children ages 2 to 5 and 17.6% of adolescents ages 12 to 19 are obese. 

Dr. Colbert says that obesity has a shocking fat price tag of $122.9 billion or 3% of the American economy. This includes fast-food restaurant sales, medical costs associated with obesity, and other factors. In 2000, Americans spent more than $110 billion yumming it up at fast food restaurants. 

Dr. Colbert says that the real pleasure of food is in the first few bites. Eat slowly, meaningfully, and purposefully. Follow that with 8 ounces of water. Throw the rest away. It’s not a sin to throw away food. It’s a sin to mindlessly eat too much!

Obesity is the second leading cause of death. It causes heart disease, Type-2 diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, sleep apnea, and other major health complications. I take a cholesterol pill and a high blood pressure pill. I sleep with a CPAP machine because of sleep apnea. 

Losing weight and getting down to 180 will solve my health problems. I am committed to do this for myself. I’ve got to. The stakes are too high to fail. 

Leave a Reply

