I Am Obese Post 2

I’ve done good so far today. We went to the Waffle House for a late breakfast. I ordered a waffle and sausage patties. I ate half the waffle and one sausage patty. I ate mindfully instead of mindlessly like Dr. Colbert recommends in his “I Can So This Diet.”  That is, eating slowly and savoring every bite. And what do you know?  I felt full!

I had 4 fresh pineapple chunks for an afternoon snack. Big change from peanut butter, crackers, and a couple of chocolate kisses. 

Then, we went to Publix and bought groceries. Big change!  Most of our food was produce and fruits!  

Joyce is fixing a healthy supper for this evening. And we will eat small portions!

I’m feeling empowered and confident. Sure, it’s only one day, but it is a successful day that I can build on. 

Joyce measured my waist. The waist is around the belly button and is not the pants size. I wear a 46 inch pants size. But my waist is a whooping 51 inches!  Ugghh.  

I weighed 238.5 this morning when I got up. 

That’s it for one week. No more weighing or measurement for 7 days according to Dr. Colbert. We’ll see how this works out. 

Yesterday was not a good day. We drove back from near Chicago after spending Christmas with my daughter and son-inlaw. It’s 860 miles and 14 hours. Joyce made 2 turkey sandwiches each, and we ate a bag of Doritos. Bad!  I had a craving for McDonalds but didn’t stop. Good!

I injected too much insulin although I thought it was the right amount to compensate for all the carbs. Woke up at 3:30am shakey and starving and sweating. Low blood glucose causes that. And, I pigged out. Graham crackers, peanut butter, chocolate kisses, and a glass of milk. Yuk!

I will eat a healthy bed time snack and try to give myself the right amount of insulin. 

Will let you know tomorrow how I fared. 

Leave a Reply

